Niharika won the 53rd State Swimming Championship

Chintan Naik (Bhubaneswar) won the 53rd State Swimming Championship Niharika Patel of Sambalpur and Chintan Kumar Nayak of Bhubaneswar won the championship titles in the senior woman and men categories of the 53rd State Swimming Championship, which concluded at Kalinga Stadium Swimming Complex here on Tuesday.
Niharika bagged eight gold, one silver and one bronze medals while Chintan clinched five gold medals in 50m freestyle, 50m backstroke, 100m back-stroke, 100m freestyle and 200m individual men events.
While, champion Chintan received the fastest swimmer award in men’s event, Sumit Sahu and Onkar Das were declared fastest swimmers in junior boy’s sub-junior boy’s categories respectively.
Roundi Tudu of Bhubaneswar sports hostel won the ‘fastest swimmer’ award in both senior and junior girl’s categories.
Top eight junior boys and girls of the competition will represent the state in the National Junior Swimming Championship to be held in Chennai from July 15.
Similarly, top eight sub-junior swimmers would participate in the National Sub-Junior Championship to be held at Rajkot from July 1.
Sports and Youth Affairs secretary Saswat Mishra distributed the trophies to the winners at the closing ceremony.
Among others, OSSA president Durga Sankar Patnaik, secretary Pitabasha Jena and coach Surendra Nayak were present.
Men: Chintan Nayak (Bhubaneswar), Boys-I, Saroj Kandulana (Sambalpur), Boys-II, Divyalochan Hati (Sambalpur), Boys-III, Omkar Dash (Bhubaneswar), Boye-IV, Satyam Das Pattnaik (Sundargarh).
Women: Niharika Patel (Sambalpur), Girls-I, Nijarika Patel, Girls-II, AnjuParadia (Sambalpur), Girls-III, Adyasa Mishra (Bhubaneswar), Girls-IV, Pratyasa Ray.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.