New Sainik Schools in Sambalpur

At present, there are twenty four Sainik Schools under the Ministry of Defence in the country.

Sainik Schools are established on receipt of a request from a State Government agreeing to provide land alongwith funds for the creation and maintenance of basic infrastructure, equipment and facilities besides scholarships for the cadets of the states. A Memorandum of Agreement is also required to be signed by the State Government to this effect.

As regards opening new Sainik Schools, proposals have been received from the State Governments of Orissa, Madhya Pradesh and Andhra Pradesh for setting up new Sainik Schools in Sambalpur, Sagar and Chittoor districts respectively. After site inspection by officers of the Ministry, ‘in principle’ approval has been accorded for setting up new Sainik Schools in these States. The State Governments have been requested to transfer the land, build up basic infrastructure and sign the Memorandums of Agreement.

This information was given by Minister of Defence Shri A.K. Antony in written reply to Shri Gopal Singh Shekhawat in Lok  Sabha today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: