Congress chairpersons in three new NACs

Sunita Bag of Congress was declared elected to the post of Chairperson of Attabira NAC unopposed here on Saturday. The post was reserved for SC (woman) candidate and the announcement was made by Bargarh Sub-Collector who was officiating as the election officer.

Although the Congress had the option to field Bilasini Naik of the party who won from ward-9, reserved for SC, it settled for Sunita.

A resident of Bhalupali under ward-3 of Attabira NAC, Sunita said her priority is to work with all the 11 councillors for development of the NAC. She has completed Plus Two and is married to Phagnu Bag, a salesman of a medicine store. She said provision of drinking water, road connectivity, sanitation and street lights would be her thrust areas.

A first timer in electoral politics, Sunita attributed her success to her mentor and Attabira MLA Nihar Mahanand and  people of her ward. Her supporters and Congress workers celebrated her victory soon after the results were announced.

Nuapada: Sudeshana Suraj (26) of Congress was elected the first Chairperson of the Nuapada NAC. Although the post was reserved for ST (woman) and another Congress nominee Lileswari Majhi had won from ward-8 reserved for ST (woman), the Congress leadership led by Kalahandi MP Bhakta Charan Das opted for Suraj who had won from ward-1.

For her, providing basic amenities to people is the top priority.

The Congress had won in seven of the 14 wards under the Nuapada NAC and BJD had to be satisfied with just four wards.

Dhenkanal: Sulochana Behera was declared Hindol NAC Chairperson uncontested. She was elected as Congress candidate from ward-5.

In the NAC election, Congress bagged seven seats while BJD got two, BJP one and Independents won six seats. Congress sources said all Independent candidates extended their support to Sulochana in election to the Chairman post on Saturday. District Congress Committee president NCN Das was present.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.