Attabira, Nuapada get ready for its first NAC elections

Attabira is gearing up for its first NAC election scheduled to be held on April 3 with filing of nomination papers coming to an end on Friday. The counting of votes will be held on April 5. The new NAC has 11,700 voters.

The election will be an acid test for the sitting Attabira MLA Nihar Mahanad ahead of 2014 general elections. Pyarimohan Mohapatra led OJM, which is yet to officially declare its political wing, is extending tacit support to seven Independent candidates, sources said.

As many as 62 candidates have filed their nomination papers for the total 12 wards under the NAC. While the Congress, BJP and BJD have fielded candidates in all the wards, the BSP has put up candidates in seven wards and 19 Independent candidates have filed nominations.

Reports said ward Nos 8, 11 and 12 are open for general candidates while ward Nos 2 and 4 are reserved for OBC candidates, Ward No 7 is for woman candidate, Ward Nos 1 and 5 are for OBC (woman) candidate, Ward Nos 6, 9 and 10 are for Scheduled Caste (SC) and ward No 3 is reserved for SC (woman) candidate.

In Nuapada, which will also experience its first NAC polls to be held on the same date, 73 candidates have filed nominations for 14 councillor posts.

The Congress, BJP and BJD have fielded candidates in all the wards. Though the BJD has 18 candidates, four of them are likely to withdraw.

Apart from the major political parties, the BSP is staking claim on three wards, SP in one while 23 Independent candidates have filed their nominations.

Four wards are unreserved, three are for OBC and one each for woman, OBC (woman), SC, SC (woman), ST and ST (woman).

However, a clear picture will emerge only after the scrutiny of nomination papers slated for March 18 and withdrawal of nominations on March 21 are over.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.