BJD unseats Cong from Sambalpur bastion

With a miraculous win of 10 seats in Sambalpur zilla parishad election, the BJD has established its base in the district, considered a  Congress bastion since a long time. BJD’s ZP win has in fact dealt a severe blow to Congress, which was hoping for a hat-trick win this time.

According to sources, the presence of BJD was negligent in the district since the inception of the party. BJD’s presence was felt in the district for the first time after Rohit Pujari, former state president of youth Congress, joined the party in 2009 and contested parliament election from Sambalpur as a BJD candidate. Though he was defeated, he became the district president of BJD.

“His first work was to organize the party at grass root level. We joined the party at his behest. Now we have a strong network in the entire district. It has been possible only due to the dynamic leadership of Rohit Pujari,” said a party worker Onkar Nayak.

Sources said BJP’s Brindaban Majhi became the  ZP chairman in 1997. But in the 2002 election, Congress won the zilla parisad and Santosh Kumar Budek became the chairman of the parishad. In 2007 election, Congress retained the parishad for the second time and  Sobharam Pradhan became the chairman. But in 2012, BJD won the parishad for the first time. Since the chairman’s post is reserved for SC woman,  Sobhagini Pradhan of Rairakhol is all set to be elected chairperson this time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.